DSC_0109-1024x680I have been a professional translator since 2000 (passing the ITI entrance examination in 2001).  I originally come from a nursing background, and after qualifying in 1991, worked as an intensive care nurse, including critical care outreach and senior management, up to 2004, at which time I took up translation full-time. As an RN, I worked in Australia, the United Kingdom and Norway, as well as passing the US NCLEX-RN examination in Atlanta.

My nursing background and extensive experience in the translation/localization industry give me an excellent grasp of healthcare structures across a number of international systems. I also have a diploma in copyediting and proofreading for publication (Dip. Pub.), am a qualified member of the United Kingdom’s Institute of Translation and Interpreting (MITI), a senior practitioner with AUSIT [the Australian body for translators and interpreters] and a member of the American Translators Association (the ATA).

Other professional memberships include: ITI Medical Network, the ATA Medical Division, the Australian Medical Writers Association (AMWA), Society of Authors, Society of Editors (WA) and The Norwegian Association of Professional Translators (NORFAG).

I studied linguistics, European Studies and German at the University of Western Australia, Perth, and am currently majoring in English and Italian at UWA, Albany.

I have worked as a translator, proofreader and copy-editor since 2001, and my work increasingly involves editing the work of other language professionals and moderation of translator entrance exams. I am passionate about language and love working with the written word. I have a large number of clients, the majority of whom use me for repeat business, and am supported by a large network of specialist e-groups and language forums. Continuous professional development (CPD) is a key part of my work, and I attend a conference at least once annually. I am thorough, exacting, and take a meticulous attitude to all my work.

SOCIAL
I am married to Liz and we have three children, two dogs and three cats. When I’m not doing something language related, you’ll find me walking the dogs on a local beach or riding my bike fast with the local cycling club. I also enjoy reading and spending time with my family.

If you’re ready to order a translation, please complete the order form on the Contact page